Please be aware that this is a past event.

The Humanitarian Innovation Project is delighted to announce the 2015 Humanitarian Innovation Conference, in partnership with the World Humanitarian Summit. Hosted in Oxford on 17 & 18 July 2015, the theme of this year’s conference is ‘facilitating innovation’. As interest and dialogue around humanitarian innovation continues to expand, conference participants are invited to explore the challenges of creating an enabling environment for humanitarian innovation.

In the lead up to the World Humanitarian Summit, a key focus of the conference will explore how we enable innovation by and for affected communities. What does it mean to take a human-centred approach seriously, and to engage in co-creation with affected populations? It will also seek to examine what facilitation means across the wider humanitarian ecosystem, and how we can better convene the collective talents of people within and across traditional and non-traditional humanitarian actors.

Dates: 17-18 July 2015


Now Open! The deadline to register is 1 July 2015.


A provisional programme for #HIP2015 is now available. Please note that times and panels are subject to change.


Conference fees include full access to all conference facilities and events, buffet lunch on both days, and formal dinner in Keble College hall on 17 July. The standard conference fee is £425, with a reduced rate for participants from academic or non-profit institutions (£325) and students (£275).

[Note: Registration does not include accommodation; participants will need to make their own arrangements for accommodation]


  • Emily Arnold-Fernandez, Asylum Access
  • Andrew Billo, UNOCHA
  • Jeff Crisp, Refugee Studies Centre
  • Olivier Delarue, UNHCR Innovation
  • Chris Earney, UNHCR Innovation
  • Niels Harild, World Bank
  • Per Heggenes, IKEA Foundation
  • Hunter Hunt, Hunt Consolidated Energy
  • Randolph Kent, King’s College London
  • Avila Kilmurray, Global Fund for Community Foundations
  • Joanna Macrae, DFID
  • Patrick Meier, iRevolutions
  • Anita Menghetti, US Department of State
  • Nuno Nunes, IOM
  • Mike Penrose, Action Contre La Faim
  • Nathaniel Raymond, Harvard Humanitarian Initiative
  • Kyla Reid, GSMA
  • Tarun Sarwal, ICRC
  • Kim Scriven, Humanitarian Innovation Fund
  • Tom Scott-Smith, University of Oxford
  • Julia Stewart-David, ECHO
  • Jackie Strecker, UNHCR
  • David Stuckler, University of Oxford
  • Jelte van Wieren, Dutch Ministry of Foreign Affairs
  • Oisin Walton, Vodafone Foundation
  • Paul Wise, Stanford University