j

Live Online Consultation: Urban Track to the WHS

Event Info

Date 19th May 2015
Location Remote
Price
Event Organiser ALNAP Urban Response Community of Practice

The World Humanitarian Summit (WHS) is an initiative of the UN Secretary-General to set a vision, recommendations, and commitments on how to more effectively and inclusively, meet the humanitarian challenges of the future. Regional consultations so far have highlighted the urgent need for an ‘urban track’ towards the World Humanitarian Summit and beyond (ex. Habitat III, etc.). Using inputs from the regional WHS consultations and the reflections of an ‘Urban Expert Group’, a set of recommendations is being drafted which will be finalized at a meeting bringing together mayors, city operators, UN, INGOs, private sector, donors and urban experts in June 2015. More information is at https://www.worldhumanitariansummit.org/whs_urban 

Recognising that only a small group will be able to attend the June 2015 meeting, a live online consultation is being organized in order to:

  • Reach out to a wide international network through the ALNAP Urban Response Community of Practice
  • Allow those with urban interest and experience to contribute to the development of the recommendations which will be submitted at the World Humanitarian Summit’s Global Consultation in October 2015

Each of the live consultations will include a brief explanation of the various activities happening as part of the urban track to the WHS. Each recommendation will be then proposed to the audience who will be able to vote in real-time about the importance/usefulness/priority of the recommendation. Participants will also be able to submit comments at any point, and this feedback will be used by the organisers to finalise the recommendations. The list of recommendations will be circulated several weeks before the live consultation (end of April) – participants are advised to review this list and consider their thoughts in advance. The live consultation will only last for 90 minutes. Feedback on the recommendations can also be submitted by email until May 19th.

May 19, 2015:

Session 1: 9am London/10am Geneva/11am Nairobi/12:30pm Kabul/
1:30pm Delhi/3pm Jakarta/4pm Manila/6pm Sydney
Register at: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/2586543195645275394
 
Session 2: 8am California/10am Bogota/11am New York/
3pm Freetown/4pm Dakar/4pm London
Register at: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/4988631955196425218
 
This initiative is led by  UN-Habitat, IRC and DFID. The online consultation
will be hosted by the ALNAP Urban Response Community of Practice.

Share
FacebookTwitterLinkedIn

Event Info

Date 19th May 2015
Location Remote
Price
Event Organiser ALNAP Urban Response Community of Practice